top of page

How I knew Israel was the Best Place to Study Abroad


When I was deciding where to study abroad I knew that I wanted to immerse myself in a different culture and language. I thought living on the beach in the south of France or exploring the incredible history of Rome would both be valuable and beautiful additions to my education. But as I was discussing these possibilities with my family and friends I realized that they simply were not the right fits for me.

Reality hit me, and I realized that the most beneficial experience for me would be a Jewish one. I am very involved in Hillel and Jewish life back home at American University, and at the time I was considering becoming a reform Rabbi. I knew that because I was already very connected to my Jewish community it made the most sense for me to live in Jerusalem for nearly five months, where I could immerse myself in Jewish learning, explore the country and feed my Jewish n’shama (soul).

I returned from my semester abroad for my senior year and began a new position as the Hillel Student Programs Coordinator. I’m thrilled at the opportunity to help enrich American University’s Jewish community in a more official capacity with Hillel. I’m excited to help enhance programming for my peers and engage other students in Jewish university life.

Studying at Hebrew University with Thrive gave me an opportunity to participate in frequent Jewish learning programs that have helped to show me the text behind many traditions and practices. It fed my passion for Jewish learning, which makes me a more equipped Hillel professional when helping students in Beit Midrash (House of Study) programming or other learning capacities.

My campus is filled with diverse individuals and Jewish students with different practices and backgrounds. My time in Israel allowed me to explore more Jewish communities with diverse cultures and practices from what I was used to back home. It was enlightening to mix with different types of Israeli Jews, but also Jews from Europe, Australia, South Africa and the fifty United States of America among other countries. Learning with other American Jews gave me incredible insights into how other Jewish communities function in different universities. I had incredible opportunities to brainstorm with different student leaders about effective programming and engagement tools that I can bring back to American University. I am so blessed to have had the opportunity to study abroad at Hebrew University because it gave me an opportunity to harness experiences and skills that will help me as I continue working with my university’s Jewish community. I hope that any Jewish student, whether highly involved or not in his or her community, has the same opportunities as me to study abroad in Israel. It truly has made me even more passionate about helping other Jewish students feel enriched by our university's Hillel and Jewish community.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page