top of page

Cause what is Hebrew University without a chance to THRIVE?

I remember first seeing the email about Thrive, and instantly jumped at the opportunity. I called my parents right away to tell them the amazing news I just received. “Mom, Dad! There’s this program called Thrive that takes you around the country to learn more about Israel and Judaism! I need to be part of this program” As I saw my parents read about Thrive, they instantly looked up and said, “Where can we sign you up” and at that moment, everything changed for the better. I knew that my time in Israel just got a whole lot better.

Before studying abroad in Israel, I wouldn’t have considered myself a religious person at all. I came from a very Reform family, only attending synagogue on the High holidays, and barely observed Shabbat growing up. When I first went to Israel on Birthright in July 2011, it opened my eyes to the beauty of Israel and Judaism. By going on Birthright, I understood the importance of Israel for the Jewish people, and with that, I wanted to develop my relationship with my Israel. At that point, I began to figure out ways in which to go back to Israel. One cannot fully grasp Israel, fully understand Israel, and fully live in Israel in a matter of 10 days. I knew I needed more. Therefore, because of my strong connection to Israel, I decided that studying abroad in Israel was a perfect way for me to grow religiously and spiritually. And Thrive at Hebrew University was definitely the way to do so!

Thrive is very opening to all Jewish individuals with different backgrounds. Because of this, I was able to learn from all kinds of Jews, and most importantly, connect to Judaism on a different level. Thrive gave me the chance to not only learn more about my Judaism, but to live and experience it. Without Thrive, I would not have been able to experience the Shabbatons they planned, travel, learn, and grow individually. The most meaningful part of Thrive, for me, was the Shabbaton to Tzfat, which gave us the chance to explore Kabblalah, Jewish mysticism.

I can honestly say that without Thrive, I would not have been able to grow in the ways I wanted too. Thrive provides a family for individuals that do not have family in Israel, in order to have Shabbat dinners and stay connected to Judaism. Thrive provides wonderful trips throughout Israel that keeps you connected and for you to see all of Israel. Thrive provides you with chances to listen to speakers that make you understand Israeli society and culture. Ultimately, Thrive provided all the components I needed in order to be connected more to Judaism.

As I sit here in New York, writing about my time with Thrive, I also have Thrive to thank for my active involvement in the Jewish community. I left Israel knowing that I have a commitment to the Jewish community back in the states, and a commitment to Israel. With that said, I made it my goal to enhance Jewish life on campus. I am the president of Hillel on campus, and it is my duty to give Jewish students a chance to connect with their Judaism. Additionally, it is my duty to spread the truth and awareness about Israel. Therefore, I have been reached out to come speak in freshmen classes about Israel, giving students’ a student perspective on the situation who has lived and experienced Israel first hand (which is SO important!) Also, because of my passion to stay connected with the Jewish community, I have taken up many volunteer and internship opportunities to work with Jewish individuals in New York. I volunteer for the Jewish Board of Family and Child Services, specifically the Geller House in Staten Island. The Geller House is a short-term residential diagnostic center that provides assessment, treatment, and aftercare planning for Adolescents and Children. Additionally, I am interning for a startup Holocaust exhibit in Staten Island. This internship entails me to meet with Holocaust survivors, get a video testimony, go to Middle and Upper Schools to teach Holocaust/Jewish education, create a blog in their honor, and edit their video for the exhibit. And finally, I am in works to volunteer at the Jewish Community Center as a mentor for children, building relationships with them and cultivating community service.

So yes, you could say I am actively involved in my Jewish community. I have Thrive to thank for giving me the opportunity to explore my Judaism and Israel, and to further understand the importance of American-Jewish individuals to study abroad in Israel. Cause as the title states, what’s Hebrew University without a chance to Thrive?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page